Wide-eyed tech-freak…

Standard

 

219

This is another side of me. An open-mouthed, wide-eyed, immensely awestruck side of me. I love technology. It is really a very very very exciting thing for me each time I hear of a new release. Be it about laptops, cellphones, the internet, tabs, anything everything related to technology.

There was a rosy time of mine, when I was always updated and full of details about the latest stuff in the market. Now I have slowed down. But I still love techie stuff. I yearn to bring back that time, yearn to be aware of every detail of the great and not so great improvements in technology.

It gave me immense joy, when yesterday I sat down and counted up the things I held so close to my heart.

14407807_10210536493831279_708170604_o-1

My dad gifted me an Acer Laptop. When I passed out tenth grade with distinction. I used it with love for seven whole years. The only reason I have abandoned it now, is because its bluetooth no longer works, its OS cannot be updated anymore, and most important reason is the wifi doesn’t connect anymore.

There are two laptops I am eyeing right now. Let’s see what fate hands to me. One is the Lenovo Yoga 13. It has an enthralling flexible design. And some great features:

Graphics Intel® HD Graphics 4000 (integrated)
Dimensions 333.4 x 224.8 x 16.9 mm (13.1 x 8.9 x 0.67″)
Camera 1.0M 720p HD integrated webcam
Display 13.3″ HD+IPS capacitive multitouch display (16:9 widescreen) (1600×900)

yoga-header-banner

The other laptop is the Hp Spectre. My reason for adoring it: pure blithe design. (It is too dreamy to be true!!!!)

501545-hp-laptop

It has awesome specifications too:

  • CPU: 2.2GHz Intel Core i5-5200 (dual-core, 3MB cache, up to 2.7GHz with Turbo Boost)
  • Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 5500.
  • RAM: 8GB DDR3 (1600Mhz)
  • Screen: 13.3-inch, 1,920 x 1,080 FHD Radiance LED-backlit touchscreen.
  • Storage: 256GB SSD.
  • Ports: 3x USB 3.0; HDMI, mini DisplayPort, headphone/microphone combo.

spectre4-980x653

I bought a Geepas walkman. Because I was tired of borrowing it from my friends in school days. Okay, I never had enough to buy the Ipod that was trending at that time and somehow I wasn’t very attracted to the mp3 players. Until, after I bought my walkman.

Oh well. And then I bought my first cellphone. It was my LOVE. Pink, delicate, slider Samsung J600. It had the following specifications:

Released 2007, April
20MB storage, microSD (dedicated slot) card                                                                                1.3MP camera, GSM Technology

It had a slippery feeling, and it slipped on my tiled floor a lot of times. This lead to the damage of the speaker, and then even the navigation keys stopped working.

So I went ahead and bought a Nokia E63. This was my LOVE tooooo. It is still working and really dear to me. It just got obsolete because it wasn’t a touchscreen smartphone. It has the following specifications:

Released 2008, December
Symbian OS 9.2                                                                                                                                 Screensize: 2.36 inches
120MB storage, microSD card slot

My next targeted phone is the Samsung S6 Edge. It is not the latest phone in the market. But that is the thing about me. I don’t go after the latest. I go after the one that I can’t keep my eyes of and can’t stop thinking about it. S6 did that to me.

samsung-galaxy-note-edge

samsung-galaxy-s6-edge

Until I get hold of this phone, I have to make-do with my Lava A79.

When I had a hard time finding books to read, I was downloading and reading pdf novels on my Nokia E63. I knew I’d lose my eyesight reading that tiny font. So I decided to get an Ipad 2. For the sole purpose of reading on large font (Hahahahaha!!!!), I grabbed one from Jarir Bookstore, KSA in 2012.

ipad2big

I used it with great care, until my daughter was born. She dominated its usage. And by the middle of 2013, it got cracks on a side and the home button got stuck often. Ipad 2 didn’t win my heart. Although being my most expensive purchase till date, it just didn’t awe me. I had a hard time downloading audio files to the ios format. I also had a tough time getting games. Besides being an avid reader, I am a huge game enthusiast. Ipad was a huge disappointment for gaming. It had a great camera though. I have some amazing pictures taken from it.

The Ipad 2 had such a great camera, that I did not need to use my Fujifilm camera anymore. That camera was a great buy for me. It has been so good over the years, that even till today I take pictures from it. Lava a79 doesn’t support great megapixels. Thus, I have resorted to take pictures from the camera.

Home life has side-tracked me from a lot of my passions. It is time I get back to them. I have to fill the mind-numbing voids of my days. I cannot just simply cross off days from my calendar. I have to make my days count.

I am not promising, but urging my inner self. I shall get updated and post more about new stuff that hit the tech market.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

